Aya Academy of Excellence



And Now We Are Cooking With Fiyah!

And Now We Are Cooking With Fiyah!

It just hit me that I use food as a learning too. While teaching a unit on Germany, I had a group of German students, arranged by the local consulate, visit our class and while there we had a taste-testing of some German fare.

Although I cannot profess to being a great cook, I realize that my creative juices are inspired to look at every opportunity to connect content. Case-in-point, the Tex Taco Chicken Tortillas the girls and I had for lunch while preparing our cowboy lesson related to the book Thunder Rose by Jerdine Nolen.

Here’s the recipe:

2 packages o chicken cutlets
2 cans of diced tomatoes (Rotela is spicy and the best)
1 package of Taco Seasoning
1 bag of tortilla chips
Combine first 3 ingredients and cook for 4 hours on low in a slow cooker. Spoon cooked chicken onto tortilla chips.

Extras for Topping: Cheese, sour cream, olives and jalapeno slices.

I think that I am inspired to create Mommie-And-Me Cookbook based on some of our favorite stories. Wouldn’t that e a hoot?

Leave a Reply

