Aya Academy of Excellence



Confessions of a Bad Blogger

Confessions of a Bad Blogger

I met up with a collective of dynamic women online writers today for a session focused on the nuts and bolts of blogging. The participants, comprised mostly of lifestyle-focused writers, divulged their personal and professional experiences regarding why they started blogging, what techniques they used to reach their audiences and which technologies best supported their growth as online writers. I was captivated by the breadth of expertise within the room – one participant has been blogging for less than a year and has accumulated a mass following for her posts on motherhood, fashion and everyday living. I was in awe. I realized that I’ve been doing so many things ‘wrong’ (there is truly no right way but I’ll revisit that later.)

1. I don’t market my blog. Some of the bloggers spend significant time checking SEOs to see where people are finding their posts and use that info to drive more visitors to their pages. They tag their images and do not rely on automatic links to share their content. Me…I click the Pinterest button and then I’m so done. I felt like an underachiever…and I may be OK with that…more on that later.

2. Image(s) is EVERYTHING! I use my cell phone to take pictures – and although the images are reasonably clear, for crisp images, a higher quality photo, and therefore camera, can be a deciding factor for people to visit and follow your page. Images tell a story as much as text and I’ve been telling half the story.

3. Plug it in, plug it in. I don’t have plug ins because my blog is a supplement to Aya Academy’s online presence. Currently I have a separate website, Pinterest, Twitter and blog all using the same AyaAcademy handle. Converting to a full fledged website would mean changing the identity of either the blog or website….I feel to merge them would make me feel a bit like Norman Bates…psycho…I’d have two identities operating in one space. After today’s meeting I realized the blog is more a teaching and sharing tool while the webpage is an operational tool to brand and sell our services and programs.

4. One track minded. Throughout the session, I kept pondering whether I was doing it right….and for the right reasons. Page views didn’t matter to me until I realized that I was a dwarf in the midst of page view giants. Am I just pecking my thoughts out to an empty room? Does it matter? I had a come to Jesus moment and realized that the blog has been a cathartic exercise in the past but it is time to let it evolve so that it is reflective of the growth of our company. Who wants to be the best kept secret?

5. Size does matter. I write way too much at times. And it is ok to share a succinct thought, now and again. I blame Ms. Wolf and Ms Bryant, my former lit teachers who imposed 1,000 word count essays for that.

6. A One Track Mind. It’s ok to have a little variety in our posts. Veering from purely instructional posts is ok. Breathe, and repeat, it’s ok.

So I have been doing it right until the moment my eyes opened to realize that I want more for this blog…it’s not merely an online journal but an interactive space to share and connect with others. Now that I know that, to keep doing what I was doing would of course be wrong because it would stunt growth. I appreciated every second of being amongst this contingent of ladies today and am looking forward to getting the Most Improved award the next time we meet.

Leave a Reply

